Whether you want to keep your account private or hide it from certain people, deleting your profile Instagram is the most drastic technique to achieve this. Also, once you delete your account, you can't reactivate it again - at least not without getting another Instagram account again.
However, if you wish to delete your Instagram profile permanently instead of just hiding it from other people, there are a few things you need to know about it, as well as how to actually do it. Here's what you need to know about stages of deletion of your Instagram profile, and how deleting an Instagram account affects everyone else who has access to it as well.
The quick FAQ below should help answer any questions you may have about this.
Why would you want to delete your Instagram profile?
If you want to delete your Instagram profile because it is no longer needed or if you want to keep it private, we have some good tips below.
Consider that your profile, before you completely delete your Instagram profile, can be made private to ensure that only those people to whom you give permission to view your content can see the photos or videos you post.
In this case, it is therefore a question of review your privacy settings to make your profile less accessible and broadcast your content only to your friends. To do this, nothing could be easier, you need to go to your Instagram profile and go to the 3 bars on the top right and then choose "privacy". There you will see that you can easily set your account to private.
If you use your personal profile to promote your business and you don't want to mix the two and you want to post more personal content without your customers knowing about your private life, then simply create a new specific instagram account for your company.
The big advantage of this is that you can then link this Instagram account with Facebook and turn your Instagram account into a professional account that gives you more details on statistics, the ability to schedule your posts, to link the Facebook shop to your Instagram posts, etc.
So think twice before deleting your Instagram profile because it will not be possible to go back. Ask yourself the following questions:
- Do I ever want my Instagram account back?
- Is my goal simply to limit access to my Instagram posts?
- Is it my primary goal to separate my professional and private lives?
If the answer to any of these questions is "yes", then we recommend that you treasure your Instagram account and take other less drastic measures that will help you achieve the goals you are looking for. Deleting your Instagram profile is therefore not the best solution for you!
Do you use Instagram for your business? Before you think about deleting your account, analyse the data well that comes back from Instagram to validate or not your choice.
When Instagram is used well, it can be a powerful way toimprove its reputationThe aim is to increase the number of visitors to the website and thus generate new customers.
How to hide your Instagram account?
If you want to hide your Instagram account, there are a few simple steps that will allow you to do so. If you want to hide or temporarily close your account from other people, the first thing you need to do is deactivate your account. This means that all posts will be saved on Instagram's servers, but will no longer appear in your feed.
You can always search and retrieve them if you really want to see what was posted before it was deleted. When you deactivate your account, it will be hidden from all people who have access to it, except for those who have been given the ability to view deleted accounts - which is pretty much just yourself, even if you deleted it years ago.
Hiding your Instagram account is therefore a good step to take if you want to leave the possibility to return to the social network one day without losing everything. When you are unsure of your decision, this is the option we recommend you take.
What is the procedure for deleting your Instagram profile?
The process for deleting your Instagram profile is actually quite simple. It involves going to your Instagram profile and clicking on the three lines in the top right hand corner of the screen. Next, you need to click on "Settings". Once you are in the "Settings" menu, scroll down to where it says "Account" and then you go to "Deactivate my account" and click on it.
From there, confirm that you want to delete your Instagram profile, and congratulations - you're done! Are you done? Of course you are! But before you think about deleting anything else from your phone or computer, make sure you save everything first. This includes photos, videos, contacts and even text messages, so that if something goes wrong during this deletion process, you don't lose irreplaceable data.
Does deleting your Instagram profile permanently delete everything?
Yes, when you delete your account, all photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently deleted. You will not be not able to reactivate your Instagram account without a new account.
This means that if you are going to delete your Instagram profile and later want to return to this social network, you will have to create a brand new account with, if your current account name is no longer available, a brand new name.
For safety and comfort we recommend the previous alternative but if you want to remove all traces of your presence on Instagram, you have no choice but to permanently delete your account.
Is it possible to reactivate your deleted Instagram account?
Yes, it is still possible to get back on Instagram, thankfully. To reactivate your account, you can create a new Instagram account using the same email address and password you used to set up your old account.
As mentioned above, you can re-use the same contact details for your account but these are not linked to your public login. This means that there is no guarantee that you will be able to retrieve the name of your previous account.
One last piece of advice: think about it before you delete your Instagram profile.
There are different ways to distance yourself from Instagram depending on your needs and desires:
- You can restrict your account and make it non-public
- You can hide your account or deactivate your Instagram account which gives you the possibility to reactivate it and come back to it later without losing what you have already published and keeping your different interactions visible
- You can also delete your account which does not allow you to go back. If you choose the latter option, you will lose all your history and you will have to create a new account to return to Instagram